Pain = Creativity

You say you don’t understand, I believe you.

You say you can’t comprehend, I believe you.

The only way you could is to live in pain and keep a straight face.

My straight face is a mask I created to divert attention.

There is a hell beneath this mask that I wouldn’t wish on anyone.

I believe you want to understand but you’ve got your head in the sand.

I believe you need to understand to validate your point of view.

I can see you trying to unmask me and glimpse the hell underneath.

I’ve tried to tell you that to see, all you have to do is look with your soul.

I’ve tried to show you my creations as they are what I feel.

I’ve wanted you to understand but you can’t…

I’ve wanted to share this with you but you can’t see…

My hell is on the walls and in the pages of my sketchbooks.

My pain is masked and yet in your face, pain is being creative.

Pain is what drives creatives…

Pain is what you can’t see or feel to the degree of me…

My lines of light and dark blur in response to this pain, fading my response

to the mundane question you just asked me.

I am my pain, masked and straight faced but for all the world to see.

5 thoughts on “Pain = Creativity

  1. The third line of this poem tells a world of tales.

    The repetition works great on all counts. It happens like pain, over and over, and whispers of what goes one beneath the mask. And the painting, it’s wonderful.

    I had no idea you painted. I’m enchanted by what this even is birthing… 🙂 ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All too often masks are the public face of those in Chronic pain. The public may claim they want to understand and see beneath but as in old horror films if they get to glimpse the truth they frequently want to run away screaming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

